Multi Sectoral Development Program for Minorities

  • Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains have been identified as minority communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 and constitute close to 19% of India’s population.
  • The Minority Sectoral Development Programme is a two fold effort by the Center and States to supplement existing schemes in minority concentration areas to undertake innovative projects for ministry welfare.
  • MSDP covers 710 minority concentration blocks (MCBs) in 155 backward districts and 66 minority concentration towns outside these MCBs.